Automotive News, Reviews, Tips, Photos and Videos

Lewis Hamilton wins in Bahrain after superb battle with Rosberg

Published by on Apr 6, 2014 in Motorsport Leave a comment

2014 Bahrain Grand Prix

The 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix offered one of the most exciting races in the past years and definitely the best one in the new 1.6-liter turbo engines era. The race was dominated by Mercedes and was marked by a splendid duel between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. The German started the race in pole position, but Hamilton had a better start and overtook him in the first corner. The gap at the end of the race was just one second, but there where laps when Hamilton was six seconds in front of Rosberg, especially after the first pit stops. The Safety Car was deployed during the second set of pit stops and helped the German get close to Hamilton. Rosberg, with faster soft tires, had several attempts of passing Hamilton, but the Brit held on and kept the lead until the finish line, especially with Rosberg calming down and not taking any risks in the last couple of laps.

One of the most surprising performances came from Sergio Perez, the Mexican finishing 3rd in what many see as the one of the best races of his career. He started the race on the fourth position, but managed to pass Massa in the first laps, then his team-mate Nico Hulkenberg and even Fernando Alonso (twice). As for current World Champion Sebastion Vettel, the German finished 6th, complaining about the performance of the Red Bull cars on the high speed areas of the race. One of the most spectacular moments of the race was the crash of Esteban Gutierrez. The Mexican tried to pass Pastor Maldonado but was hit by the Venezuelan driver. The Sauber did a double somersault but Gutierrez was fine and was able to get out of the car without any serious injuries.

After the Bahrain race, Rosberg is still leading the Drivers’ Championship, with 61 points, with Lewis Hamilton second, but the Brit managed to reduce the difference to 11 points. Hulkenberg is 3rd, with 28 points, followed by Alonso (26 points) and Jensen Button with 23 points. As for the Constructors’ Championship, the Mercedes dominance is more and more obvious, the German team leading the standings with 111 points, almost three times as much as the next team, Force India-Mercedes (44 points). Just one point behind, McLaren completes the podium with 43 points, followed by Red Bull (35 points) and Ferrari with 33 points.

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes-AMG 21:39:42.743
2Nico RosbergMercedes-AMG 1+1.0 s
3Segio PerezForce India-Mercedes 4 +24.0 s
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault 13 +24.4 s
5 Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes 11 +28.6 s
6 Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault 10 +29.8 s
7 Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes 7 +31.2 s
8 Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes 3 +31.8 s
9 Fernando AlonsoFerrari 9 +32.5 s
10 Kimi RaikkonenFerrari 5 +33.4 s
11 Daniil KyvatSTR-Renault 12 +41.3 s
12 Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault 16 +43.1 s
13 Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari 21 +59.9 s
14 Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault 17 +62.8 s
15 Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault 18 +87.9 s
16 Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari 19 +1 Lap
17 Jensen ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes 6 Ret. lap 55
18 Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes 8 Ret. lap 40
19 Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari 15 Ret. lap 39
20 Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault 20 Ret. lap 33
21 Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault 14 Ret. lap 18
22 Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari 22 Ret. lap 17

Get the latest stories delivered to your inbox

If you like our articles, please subscribe. We guarantee it's only extremely interesting stuff! Not to mention it's all for free.

We take your privacy very seriously and we'll never share your e-mail address!

You might also enjoy these other articles:

Leave a Comment